29th Annual Juried Membership Exhibition

  July 8 - August 21

Houston Center for Photography is proud to announce its 29th Annual Juried Membership Exhibition and this year's participants. Juror Ariel Shanberg selected 30 artist from over 200 entries. Mr. Shanberg will give remarks about the selections on Friday, July 8 beginning at 5:30 p.m. prior to the opening reception from 6 - 8 p.m. Artist Talks with a group of this year's participating artists will be held on Saturday, July 9 beginning at 2 p.m.
One of HCP's most diverse exhibitions of the year, the Annual Juried Membership exhibition highlights the photographs of its national and international members. HCP's members have been an integral part of its mission since 1981.
"The 30 photographers featured in this year’s installment of the Houston Center for Photography‘s Members exhibition have seduced me. Each in their own right, through their own visual language and strategies, through their elocution of their subject matter...made me look longer and deeper into their images, and meditate on the themes and concerns in their work. In successfully grabbing a hold of me, they never fully let go, remaining inscribed on the mind and in the heart, and having instilled new perspectives and fresh understanding.
What binds [them] together, is what I infer as their fervent belief in the power of images, their adherence to the craft of image making, and their strident (and successful) desire to connect with the viewer’s mind and heart. It has been a joy to encounter such images and I hope they will impart on you a similar thrilling sense of discovery. I encourage you to let them grab a hold of you – you’ll be glad they did."

--Juror, Ariel Shanberg, Executive Director, The Center for Photography at Woodstock

Participating Artists
Susan A. Barnett (New York, NY)
Mary Ellen Bartley (Wainscott, NY)*
Meg Birnbaum (Somerville, MA)
Cynthia Bittenfield (New York, NY)
Tami Bone (Austin, TX)
Mike Callaghan (San Francisco, CA)
Juan Fernandez (Downers Grove, IL)
Matt Gainer (Burbank, CA)
Tim Gruber (Minneapolis, MN)
Daniel Handal (New York, NY)
Sylvia Hardy (Brooklyn, NY)
Kathleen Hawkes (Albuquerque, NM)
Lori Hepner (Pittsburgh, PA)
Joel Hernandez (Houston, TX)
Chuck Ivy (Houston, TX)
Eleanor Owen Kerr (Baton Rouge, LA)
Stefanie Klavens (Boston, MA)
Rosine Kouamen (Houston, TX)
Elizabeth Libert (New York, NY)
Jessamyn Lovell (Albuquerque, NM)
Zach Nader (Lubbock, TX)
Christopher Olivier (Houston, TX)
Irby Pace (Krum, TX)
Maggie Preston (San Francisco, CA)
Ben Ruggiero (Austin, TX)*
Andrew Spear (Columbus, OH)
Motohiro Takeda (Brooklyn, NY)*
Erin Trieb (Austin, TX)
Bill Vaccaro (Chicago, IL)
Valerie Yaklin-Brown (Magnolia, TX)

* Juror Commendation

Opening Reception: Friday, July 8 from 6 - 8 p.m.
Juror Remarks: Friday, July 8 at 5:30 p.m.
Artist Talks: July 9 beginning at 2 p.m.
Juror: Ariel Shanberg, Executive Director, The Center for Photography at Woodstock